Property Awards with shortlisted logo

Shortlist announced for Michelmores’ prestigious Property Awards 2024

The highly-regarded Michelmores Property Awards are returning in 2024, marking 21 years of celebrating the South West’s best property, development and construction projects.

The shortlisted projects have now been announced for the Awards – a high-profile, sell-out event with around 450 individuals in attendance – to celebrate outstanding property and construction projects in Bristol, Gloucestershire, Wiltshire, Dorset, Somerset, Devon and Cornwall.

This year’s Awards received 63 nominations across 11 categories, with our panel of nine expert judges visiting each project and reviewing the applications during judging day. Our judging panel were faced with some exceptionally difficult decisions while narrowing down the shortlist this year and judging day included some long and lively debates around which projects should make it through.

Having long championed sustainability and innovation, the Awards place social, environmental, sustainable and economic values at the heart of their judging criteria – with these attributes considered just as important as a project’s aesthetics and purpose.

Regarded as among the most coveted accolades in the region, Michelmores’ 2024 Property Awards will include a new category reflecting the industry’s aim to reduce carbon and waste. The Regeneration Project of the Year category will showcase projects that involved work of significant refurbishment, retrofitting, regeneration or transformation value on an existing property or brownfield site, giving it a new lease of life and an environmentally efficient future.

The Michelmores Property Awards were established in 2002 and celebrate the very best construction and real estate projects taking place each year in the South West – from the most prestigious and exciting, to the truly innovative and daring.

Emma Honey, Head of Property at Michelmores said:

Congratulations to all of the projects shortlisted in the Michelmores Property Awards 2024. As we celebrate the 21st year of the Awards, the quality of the projects in the region is higher than ever and highlight the creativity and commitment of those working in the sector.

We look forward to celebrating 2024’s winning projects at our gala dinner on Thursday 27 June at Sandy Park Conference Centre in Exeter. I look forward to seeing you all there.”

This year’s shortlisted projects:

Project of the Year

(under £5m)

  • Dartmouth Health and Wellbeing Centre
  • Liskeard Cattle Market Regeneration
  • Oak Tree Business Park
  • Park Life
Project of the Year

(over £5m)

  • Centre for Resilience in Environment, Water and Waste (CREWW)
  • Lowen Ward and Trelawny Scanning Suite
  • Somerset Digital Innovation Centre
  • Spaceport
Regeneration Project of the Year

  • 1 Newbridge Square
  • Bristol Beacon
  • InterCity Place
  • Neighbourhood North
Education Project of the Year

  • Busy Buddies Children’s Nursery
  • InterCity Place
  • National Star College
  • Winterstoke Hundred Academy
Leisure and Tourism Project of the Year

  • Duchy of Cornwall Nursery
  • Keynvor
  • Larkstone Watersports Hub
Heritage Project of the Year

  • Bayspace
  • Pannier Market
  • The Barn
  • The Old Barbican Fish Market
Residential Project of the Year (36 homes and over)

  • Gwel Basset
  • North Taunton Woolaway Project
  • Oak Mount
  • The Old Bakery
  • The Tannery
Residential Project of the Year (35 homes and under)

  • Holden Gardens
  • Merrivale Road
  • Rosebanks
  • Sladebrook Road
Masterplanning for the Future

  • A Resilient Future for Oldway
  • Collaton Park
  • Yatesbury Airfield
Building of the Year

  • InterCity Place
  • Keynvor
  • Larkstone Watersports Hub
  • Winterstoke Hundred Academy


The winner of the John Laurence Special Contribution Award will be announced at the Awards Dinner on 27 June.

Special thanks to our panel of judges: Iestyn John from Bell Cornwell, Glayne Price of LHC Architects, Nathan McLoughlin from McLoughlin Planning, Jo Davis from Avison Young, Mike Leece OBE, Ron Persaud of Change Real Estate, Toni Riddiford from Stride Treglown, Ajay Sharma from KTA Architects, Thelma Sorensen OBE, Honorary President of South West Women in Construction.

Read more about the Michelmores Property Awards here.

Sponsoring the Awards

The Michelmores Property Awards’ reach extends throughout the region’s property, real estate and construction sectors. Sponsoring the Awards is an excellent opportunity to raise your organisation’s profile in front of this audience and the ideal corporate hospitality opportunity. As a sponsor, you will be part of a bespoke networking event and your brand will benefit from exposure from a prestigious and well-regarded property-focused campaign that reaches over 1,300 engaged real estate companies in the South West.

Email to request a 2024 Awards sponsorship brochure to find out more about our opportunities.

Michelmores Property Development Club
Michelmores Property Development Club

The Michelmores Property Development Club (PDC) is a forum for developers and property professionals to connect and share knowledge. The Club is celebrating its 21st anniversary...